Welcome to my…

Welcome to my blog!  I have so many funny stories through my work with foreign exchange students that I’ve been saying for a while now that one day I will write a book entitled “Fun with Foreigners”. Well, it’s highly unlikely that I will ever motivate myself enough to write a book, but that leaves the question of what to do with all these stories that are dying to get out of my head.  The only logical answer is, of course, to blog.
My purpose in creating this blog is not only to share funny stories, though there will be plenty of those, but also to offer my observations of humanity as witnessed through my experiences with young people from around the world.  I truly believe that the purpose of foreign exchange is to learn from one another and exchange culture in a way that brings us all closer together.  Yes, there are plenty of cultural misunderstandings and “lost-in-translation” moments that make for funny anecdotes, but more importantly is the underlying fact that we are not that different from those living on the other side of the world.  Young people have great hopes and dreams, and their family and friends want to see them achieve those dreams.  As cliché as it sounds, the more we try to understand each other and share life experiences with people from different cultural backgrounds, the richer our own lives become.
So, once again, thanks for checking out my blog and for joining me on this adventure!
12 Comments

September 10, 2012 · 1:01 am

12 responses to “ Welcome to my…

  1. Jennie M. Fouts

    Wonderful idea! Yesterday at the student orientation one of the students had never encountered an envelope that he must lick to seal it…oh my…to think that is not considered old fashioned. 🙂

  2. Grumpy

    Keep going, Sarah. I hope you tell about the German Coastguard.

  3. Little Sara :)

    Cant wait for your posts! 😀

  4. I’ll be visiting here regularly! Is there going to be a segment about root beer float and medicinal connection? 🙂

  5. Laurie Pruden

    I have a feeling this will become your first of many books. You write well about important things.
    Best of luck with this project.

    your fan,
    Sensei

  6. Terry Purcell

    We look forward to many more blogs…I know there must be thousands of funny stories since just from the two foreign exchange students I have had there have been so many funny stories so I know you must have had so many that we all would enjoy reading. Terry

  7. Ysaline Vranken

    This is probably one of the best idea ever!
    And then, you were always so good at telling stories!
    I can’t wait to read you!!

  8. Erin L Aukland

    Sarah, this is awesome! I am already a big fan of yours, so I know I will love this! What is so great about this topic….the stories will never end. Erin

Leave a Reply

